Vanilla Purple Sweet Potato Pancakes

I have been holding out on you guys with all my breakfast recipes. I seriously have a huge stack that needs to eventually get posted on the blog. So slowly but surely they will get up here. I love making a new breakfast everyday! It keeps the mornings fresh and gives me the perfect happy boost I need to get my through the day. (Remember, breakfast is the most important meal of the day!) Since I love breakfast so much, I couldn’t fathom it would be possible to make it even more loveable. But I am magic and was able to make it happen. You know I am obsessed with Purple Sweet Potatoes. I would eat them everyday, but my grocery only ever has a few and most are not very pretty looking. So I usually have a very limited supply. A few weeks ago they only had really tiny ones, but I couldn’t leave without them so I got a few small ones thinking I would just use them to make baked fries. But then it hit me. Pancakes! I use pumpkin puree all the time in my breakfasts, so why not potato puree? And why not make it purple while I’m at it? So one morning I took a PSP (Purple Sweet Potato) and microwaved it to get in nice and soft. Then I just scraped out the puree and used it in pancakes…easy as pancakes…pie!

Vanilla PSPcakes 4

These pancakes were so thick, soft, and delicious. The PSP worked beautifully and gave the pancakes a lovely light lavender purple hue :) I am very proud of this creation, so without any more delay, I introduce you to my PSPcakes!

Vanilla Purple Sweet Potato Pancakes

Vanilla PSPcakes 2Ingredients: (serves 1)

+ 1/3 Cup of All-Purpose GF Flour

+ 1/4 Tsp Baking Powder

+ 1/3 Cup Water

+ 2 TB Purple Sweet Potato puree/mash

+ 1/4 Tsp Pure Bourbon Vanilla Extract

+ 4 Drops of Liquid Vanilla Stevia

Vanilla PSPcakes 1

Directions:

+ In a bowl, stir the flour and baking powder together, then add all the wet ingredients.

+ Use a fork to mash around the potato in the bowl as it will be clumpy. Make it as smooth and incorporated as possible.

+ Next, heat a lightly oiled pan on medium high heat, then reduce to low and pour on the pancake batter. I made 3 medium sized cakes, but you could make whatever size you want.

+ Once the edges look dry and bubbles form over the surface (2-3 minutes), flip and cook for another 2-3 minutes. Repeat until all the batter is gone.

Vanilla PSPcakes 3

+ To top my cakes I just made some vanilla protein frosting (1TB Vanilla Protein Powder + water until desired consistency). But you can use what ever toppings your heart desires ;)

Vanilla PSPcakes 5Vanilla PSPcakes 6So tell me:

What is the craziest pancake recipe you ever had? I guess you can say this is a little #strangebutgood!

What is your favorite pancake topping? I love me some protein frosting or even my “chocolate sauce”, which is just cocoa powder mixed with water!

Have a lovely Thursday friends! We are almost done with the week! This is the first full one back from the holidays and winter break and it has been rough!

*Linked up with Ricki’s Wellness Weekend!*

39 thoughts on “Vanilla Purple Sweet Potato Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday Strength And Sunshine | Strength and Sunshine

  2. Pingback: Power Monday #38 Rep It Out: 124 | Strength and Sunshine

  3. Protein powder frosting sounds amazing! Such a great idea. I love using sweet potatoes in baking and these sound great. I’ve honestly never had a purple sweet potato and I’ve never seen one in my regular grocery stores. I’m going to have to try to find them now.

  4. Pingback: Peanut Pumpkin French Toast | Strength and Sunshine

  5. Pingback: Butterscotch Squash Corncakes + A Giveaway | Strength and Sunshine

  6. Pingback: Chinese Salmon, Veggie, “Noodle” Stir-Fry | Strength and Sunshine

  7. This is my new answer for what’s for brunch or breakfast!
    Healthy, yummy, gluten-free Vanilla Purple Sweet Potato Pancakes! These are sure to be people-pleasers in my house! Thank you so much for sharing this delightful recipe with us at the Happy, Healthy, Green and Natural Hop! I really appreciate it! All the best, Deb

  8. Pingback: “Secret Ingredient” Carrot Cake Waffles | Strength and Sunshine

    • Yes! I’m vegan and hate when I see awesome recipes but they always contain eggs and it sucks. You can always experiment with egg-free variations, but it is always easier to just have it all planned out for you right!?

  9. Pingback: Friday Finisher 1/10/14 | Strength and Sunshine

  10. I don’t think I’ve ever tried a purple sweet potato before, but they sound delicious! That pancake recipe looks quite tasty as well; I bet it would be great using half coconut flour and half brown rice flour, which is a combination that works well in gluten-free baked goods. One of my favorite pancake toppings is flavored almond butter–I have more than 10 different recipes for almond butter on my blog, all of them involving pre-made jarred almond butter blended with flavorings such as banana, cocoa powder, lemon juice, blueberries, raspberry jam, and others. Can you tell I love almond butter?:) I hope you have a great day!

  11. These look amazing! I have been looking for gluten-free pancakes too! Can you get a purple sweet potato anywhere or Whole Foods? I’ve never seen them! These look so yummy though!

Leave a Reply

